Skip to main content
Banner Image

Faculty Resources: Faculty Resources

Request a Journal

To request a library subscription to a journal, please contact Serials Librarian Chrissy Karafit at Chrissyk@uca.edu.

While we strive to accommodate the information needs of students and faculty, please bear in mind that some journals are extremely expensive. At times, it is more cost-effective to interlibrary loan an article than to subscribe to a journal or database.

Publishing Resources for Faculty

The Library has resources to help faculty publish articles and track citations.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) provides an assessment of a journal’s standing in scholarly literature through the evaluation of statistical information.  The analysis includes citation data, impact factors and influence metrics, and millions of journal citation data points from the Web of Science, the industry’s leading citation indices in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.  This database allows faculty to compare journals within disciplines; for example, the journal Science has an impact factor of 31.027, while the journal Nature has an impact factor of 38.597.

Cabell’s Directories of Publishing Opportunities helps users determine which journals would be the best fit for their manuscript.  Cabell’s includes information on journal style and format to assist with appropriate manuscript preparation. If a journal has manuscript submission guidelines, a link to these guidelines is provided.  In addition, this resource notes the type of review process used, number of reviewers, acceptance rate, time required for review, availability of reviewers' comments, number of copies required and manuscript topics.  This database provides information for journals in various academic fields, including but not limited to: accounting, economics/finance, management, marketing, education, psychology/psychiatry, computer science, health administration and nursing.

MLA Directory of Periodicals provides detailed information on more than 5,500 journals within the fields of language, arts and humanities.  Entries for journals indexed in this database include editorial contact information, publication frequency, submission guidelines, submission copyright disposition, as well as the number of submissions received and the number accepted.

Request a Book

To make a book or DVD purchase request please contact the Collection Development Librarian, Renee LeBeau-Ford, at ReneeL@uca.edu. Information to include in your request are:

  • the requested item's title and if available, author and edition
  • which format you prefer, such as print or eBook
  • if the item is being used as a textbook or supplemental reading for a class
  • when the item is needed

Library Instruction

Torreyson Library is proud to provide library research instruction classes for students and faculty members in all departments across campus.  If a class has an assignment with a research component, we would be happy to help students learn the most efficient and effective ways to utilize the library’s resources to find the best sources to complete these assignments.  Classes can be tailored to fit a professor’s specific assignment, or we also offer more generalized classes that provide a broad overview of our resources. 

For a hands-on learning experience, we have a library instruction computer lab where students can immediately begin to explore the research resources with the librarian.  Alternatively, a librarian can come to your classroom.   We would be happy to do whatever best meets the needs of your class.  Also, classes can be requested at any point during the semester, so remember it is never too late to plan a time for a library research instruction session.

Please feel free to contact Amber Wilson, Instruction Services Librarian (amberc@uca.edu, 450-3236), to schedule a class or for a consultation about how the library can best serve your students.  We welcome any thoughts, comments, or suggestions that you may have, based on your experiences from previous classes.  Library instruction is constantly adapting to reflect the needs of our faculty and students, and we would love to hear from you. 

Contact and General Information

Ask a Librarian: E-mail Reference Service

Reference Desk: (501)450-5224

Circulation Desk: (501)450-3174