This is the "November/December 2013 Newletter" page of the "November/December 2013" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

November/December 2013  

Last Updated: Nov 20, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uca.edu/novdec2013 Print Guide

November/December 2013 Newletter Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

UCA Library By the Numbers

In the Library there are...

39 study rooms on the first floor.

Also, 310 textbooks and 

1,200 new and popular DVDs are available for checkout.

During this fall semester...

1,373 interlibrary requests have been filled for UCA students and faculty, 

library laptops have been checked out 7,370 times, and 

384,820 pages have been printed on library printers.

 

Contact Us

Contact us: 

By phone at 450-5224

Email questions at Ask a Librarian

Email comments, concerns, and suggestions at Make a Suggestion

 

Reference Resources by Chris Springer

Many students, because of convenience and lack of knowing their options, turn to Wikipedia for general reference information. This is bad practice because there is no certainty that the information is accurate. Torreyson Library has invested in two online Reference Collections that provide accurate and convenient general reference information: Credo Reference and Gale Virtual Reference Library. Using these collections can help students shake that bad Wikipedia habit.

Credo Reference is a user friendly resource that provides access to hundreds of Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Thesauri. Each entry provides an article from a dependable resource with a citation of the article in MLA and APA format. In addition, there are links to other library resources like our Book Catalog and article databases.

The Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) contains Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks from a wide variety of disciplines. GVRL allows you to search all titles at once, search within a specific title or browse through books without searching. Each entry is available in pdf format with citations in APA and MLA. GVRL also has a handy iphone/ipad app to make your on-the-go searching easier.

If you need help using these resources or finding other resources please come by the Reference Desk in the library or call us at 450-5224.

 

Holiday and Finals Week Hours

Thanksgiving Break

Tuesday, November 26: Library closes at 10:00 pm (no overnight hours)
Wednesday, November 27: Open 8:00 am- 5:00 pm
Thursday, November 28 - Saturday, November 30:  CLOSED
Sunday, December 1:  Open at 2:00 pm (overnight hours resume)


Finals Week

Friday, December 6: Open 7:00 am- 9:00 pm
Saturday, December 7: Open 8:30 am- 1:00 am
Sunday, December 8 – Friday, December 12: Regular Hours
Saturday, December 14 - Sunday, December 15:  CLOSED


Winter Break

Monday, December 16 - Friday, December 20: Open 8:00 am- 5:00 pm
(no overnight hours)
Saturday, December 21 - Wednesday, January 1: CLOSED
Reopening on Thursday, January 2 at 8:00 am
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip